Take Control when Contractors Do you WRONG!

See Updates on the bottom of this Blog Post

bid close up

So my 89 year old Dad and I needed some Tuck pointing work

We went out and got bids for the work to be done and selected a contractor.  My dad and I live across the street from each other so this would be easy one stop job for them.  We put down the 1/2 deposit AND I told Terry J Marler of Marler and Sons (The guy we met with for the bid) I would be leaving town and hopefully he could get it done before or after my trip.SKMBT_C36413101411120_0001

While I was gone he completed the work, there was no one to really check the work as my father walks with a walker and does not get around very well.

Terry showed the work to my 20 year old daughter and thought that was adequate.

Mean while my father was told that the work that he needed was not bid correctly because he did not notice how bad it was.  Now it is chimney work at this house, clearly visible to the naked eye, is this not why you get a bid?  Ok it is not always that easy but the charge was $1000 MORE for my dads house then bid.  That is crazy in and of itself.  But my dad did NOT complain instead he paid the bill.

When I returned home I saw the work and was very disappointed.  I personally called and talked to Terry J Marler as did my father.  Terry told me he would personally come to my home and look at the work and talk to me on Monday AM.

Here is the list on the bid of what was to be done

bid close up

This is my back step they were to fix

Step work step 2

Here is my front porch step they were to waterproof, FYI that off colored concrete was NOT there when I left town!

front steps front steps 1 front steps 2

Here is the Tuck pointing on my garage

zz back garage

That Monday however 2 workman showed, I asked them if they were her to fix what was wrong, one of the workman said to me, “No we are just here to pick up our form from the back yard for the step.”  I said, that is not a form in the back yard, that is a piece of board and my landscape rocks.  He chuckled and said “Yep, that is what we call a form.”

Days, weeks passed no Terry.

So I emailed

email

NO RESPONSE

I decided the Better Business Bureau might be able to help me so I filed a complaint.

bbblogo

I was stunned to get a response from the Better Business Bureau that the company I complained about had responded, The BBB thought their response was adequate AND closed the case.  That I could respond but they would not re-open the case unless there was new information.  WHAT NEW INFORMATION could you get?  My garage fell down??????  The response was a LIE!

I sent the BBB the SAME photos you are viewing here, actually I took a few of these photos this morning AFTER the BBB closing my case!!!!!!

bbb1

bbb closed

IMG_0110

Look I just want my money back so I can hire someone to fix this right, I cannot afford to pay someone else, where is the justice?

Courts?

TV News Crews?

The Attorney General?

Well I am going to try all of those and so here you will find all the updates and information on how this turns out.  I appreciate you liking and sharing this story wherever you can to help me find justice.

For Now Terry J Marler of Marler & Sons Tuckpointing and Masonary and the Better Business Bureau get a HUGE F

bbbf public service annoumcementOne more thing for those of you who are concerned.  This is the actual words Marler & Sons personally used to respond to my complaint.  THEIR OWN WORDS

marler own words

ALL of the Photos included in this blog were taken 10/14 on my iPhone

So if they (Marler) wrote on Oct 11 in the response to the BBB see line #2 “we went back out and completed, our company owner inspected then called customer to inform it was done told her if anything else needed please contact us.”

NOW YOU TELL ME,  Those photos are what Marler & Sons OWNER deem “completed and inspected”. REALLY!!!!!????  WHO IS WRONG HERE?

UPDATE 10/15/2013 Went to Missouri Attorney General site and found 3 complaints against Marler & Sons, 2 in the past 30 days that are unresolved!  Search Marler Here http://www.consumer.ago.mo.gov/search/complaintSearch.cgi

ALSO UPDATE – Employee Stephanie Gore decided to engage on Facebook tonight with RE/MAX Slander and attacks.  Here is the facebook page of this business should you choose to check it out, https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tuckpointing-and-MasonryCom/241019008975.  Photos of the Facebook page conversation to follow soon.

Update July 2015– NOW the BBB is warning consumers about Marler!  I give the BBB an F for waiting almost 3 years.  Clearly as you see in the letter from the BBB they were not warning consumers when I compared.  Well maybe now we will see some justice.

http://www.bbb.org/stlouis/news-events/bbb-warnings/2015/07/bbb-warning-on-terry-marler-tuckpointing-and-masonry/

6 thoughts on “Take Control when Contractors Do you WRONG!

  1. I was just duped by Marler as well. I didn’t do my homework. I paid to start work and he never started and has stopped returning calls, no e-mail response and now his mailbox is full. BBB has been contacted and I will file in court tomorrow.

    However, between his casenet file:
    https://www.courts.mo.gov/casenet/cases/nameSearch.do

    And KMOV going after him:
    http://www.kmov.com/story/28425813/new-st-louis-resident-says-crooked-contractor-ruined-her-welcome

    He probably thinks he is above the law. Well, I can assure you, he is not. I’ve got time on my hands to see this through.

    • I receive comments, emails and calls from people he cheated often. Sorry you were had by him, I’m sad to know he is still doing it. I had hoped this big might save someone what I went thru.

Leave a Reply

