My Living Healthy Commitment

ex healthy

One year ago today I held out my pack of cigarettes and told Vivian this was the last of my cigarettes.  She replied asking if I needed to run and get more, I said, “no I think this is the last of my cigarettes forever”.

January 28th was my first day smoke Free and I remain smoke free.

For those of you who are struggling with quitting smoking let me say, it is hard, and I still crave a cigarette almost every day of my life, but I am glad to be free of the smell, the cost and the stigma that is that of a smoker.

Although my journey began a year ago to being healthier there are still MANY steps to complete.  I feel like although my lungs were clearer I had now gained so much weight, what was the point maybe I should have kept smoking.  Many of you however have reinforced, losing weight can and will happen, just stay the course on the non-smoking thing.  So I have.  So today I ask for your support and help as I start phase 2 of getting healthy, Let the Healthy Eating Begin.

I have gained more than an adequate amount of weight since I quit smoking AND decided to start a new business, stress does crazy things to cravings.  I hope you will join me on my journey to being healthier as I begin the process of losing weight.

I am not setting a goal to be Bikini ready I am simply setting the goal to lose at least 50 pounds, increase my activity and eat healthier foods.  Oh yeah to add more water to my in take as well.  Feel free to join me on this journey if you want, it begins on January 28th.

exer

No one can just say the words that I want change without the desire to really do so, and no one can “Make” you do it their way.  Instead I believe we need to take it one step at a time making commitments we are willing to stand by and be accountable for.  Below I am listing some of the commitments that I think are needed in this process and encourage you if you want change to select the ones that work for you at this time and make your own commitment to living a healthier life

What will you commit to?  If you can select at least one item from each category to start with and grow from there

Exercising-More activity – 

Add one 30 min walk or more to your day

Add 30 minutes of cardio to your day

Take the steps instead of the elevator if you are traveling 2 floors or less

Park in the furthest parking space to the store

 

 

 

Healthy in take –

Remove Soda from your diet completelyex water

Drink a minimum of 64 oz of water each day

Eat small meals 5 times a day

Do not eat after 8 PM

Eat Breakfast

Eat smaller portions

Limit Alcohol intake to once per week

 

Healthy Habits –

Keep fresh vegis on hand for sudden cravings

Eat only at a table without Television

When you have a craving do something physical instead until the craving is gone

 

Tracking –

Join weight watchers

Weigh in one day a week, same time, same place, same clothes

Join a gym

 

exhealthylivingHealthy Mind Set –

Share you goal with your friends so they help support you

Share your weekly progress even if you gain a pound share it so others can lift you up

See the skinnier you

 

I hope you will take the challenge with me to be healthier in 2014.  Remember this is a process, it will not be easy, you will have ups and downs and the people who love you are cheering you on NOT judging you.

Be sure to like One Day Closer to Healthy on Face Book and or follow our blog as more tips will be posted there to help get you through the process it is also a safe place where you can post victories, road blocks and healthy life style and recipe ideas.

 

Congratulations on your new commitment!

Day One: When you wake up tomorrow Weigh in and get started

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Living Healthy Commitment

  1. Today I started boot camp again. I have committed to attend three days a week and will only miss if I’m sick or it’s work related. Even if I miss I am determined to physical activity 4 to 5 days a week. That might just be walking for 30 to 40 minutes. I am also committed to healthy eating habits. I have a goal of losing 20 to 25 lbs in six months. That’s really only a pound or two a week. But not from dieting. From living a healthier lifestyle. Here we go…

Leave a Reply

