Is the deal too good to be true? YES

moolala

There are many shopping sites out there today who provide you deals on everything from dinner to diamonds.  It seems like there was Groupon and then suddenly there were 100’s of them.

I have bought from several of them over the years, mostly without incident.  I want to tell you about one to be sure to avoid, I am certain there are others so feel free to post your stories here as well.

Moolala is yet another one of those sales sites emailing constantly about the deals they have that are unbelievable.  Thing is the items that they have to sell are JUNK, TRASH!  They are rarely worth the price you pay and certainly are NOT worth the price they claim the item is valued at.

Look carefully at any photos and descriptions and then JUST SAY NO!

One recent story I personally encountered was on an items they called LED Starry Sky Projection Lamp.  The idea behind this item was it was a lamp that lit your ceiling with a TRUE rendition of the constellations, you could even personalize it by turning it to a selected month.  I thought this would be the perfect night light for the grand children who were eating us out of house and home on the cost of flash light batteries.  Finally a lamp with enough light to make them feel better and no more batteries.

Screen Shot 2014-02-16 at 3.32.18 PM

 

Here is the link to all the photos of this deal, note the photo that shows where the power cord is plugged in. http://www.moolala.com/deals/id/L9P8ARV

Or so I thought… Silly me for thinking a lamp came with a plug.  When it arrived in its cheap little almost non-existent box I saw the hole for where you plug it in but no plug.  It also had a place for batteries.  Anxious to use it I popped in the batteries.  The entire thing kept falling a part in my hand but still I thought the light part was cool for the kids.  I emailed the company asking them to please send me the missing plug.  I got a guy name Wyatt.

Wyatt asked me what the item was and asked me what I was missing, asked me where they needed to mail it even.  I asked him why he needed my address I mean you shipped it to me in the first place, but ok I complied.  Later I get an email saying it dod not come with a plug.  I said it doesn’t come with a plug?  Then I want a refund please send me a paid return item tag.  I went on to say they item was not what I expected and it should have come with a plug.  He replied, what made you think it had a plug, where does it say it has a plug?  I replied IT IS A LAMP, LAMP IMPLIES PLUG!

He told me I was out of luck and surely they do not care about my little $9.00 I paid.  He said it is up to the vendor who sold the item.  WHAT you do not back up the products you advertise?

The $9.00 really in’t the point.  The point is customer service, the point is happy customers, the point is selling items that are not junk.  It is really sad today that there are companies like this out there doing business and praying on unsuspecting customers like myself.  Sure my $9.00 isn’t much but multiply that number by the thousands of buyers they have and this quickly amounts to BIG MONEY.

I caution you before you use any of these online shopping sites to do a quick search on them  I usually try the company name and the words ripp off or fraud, that quickly pulls up unhappy customers.  Check Angies List and the Ripp Off Report, you can check the BBB (Who gave them an F rating) too but I have found that site to be pretty ineffective.

Amazon on the other hand has been stellar about rectifying problems immediately even when it is dealing with another vendor who is on their site.

 

Here are the emails for those who are interested

Screen Shot 2014-02-16 at 3.22.55 PM

 

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-16 at 3.23.53 PM

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-16 at 3.26.27 PM

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-16 at 3.25.35 PM

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-16 at 3.26.55 PM

Leave a Reply

